It’s time to go back.. Not to the island but on 3.1.3. iOS 4 makes my iPhone feel like a Sony/Nokia one, where I press something and I can have a coffee until I get a response back (you said something about Flash performance on the iPhone?). 

The worst was when I couldn’t even answer a call. The downgrade is so easy and I really didn’t feel that there was any risk at all. But hey.. This is Apple’s h/w and s/w so do not blame me if something goes wrong. Please read the whole post 1st before you try it. Here is the “todos list”: 

  1. You also need an utility in order to bring the iPhone back to life from DFU mode. (Come on don’t be scared). I used the one called “RecBoot” . The zip you are going to download contains 2 apps. The only one you are going to need is the “RecBoot Exit Only.app”. Ready to go.. 
  2. -You have to put the iPhone in DFU mode (Device Firmware Update or just “coma”). You do that by turning the iPhone off, connect it with the cable to iTunes and then Press the Power and the Home button at the same time. Hold them down for exactly 10 seconds. After that you release the Power button ONLY and you keep down the Home button for another 10 seconds. If you were good in math you are going to get a pop up in iTunes informing you that it detected and iPhone in recovery mode. The iPhone now has a black screen 🙂 (Don’t worry!)
  3. -Restore: Now press ok and under iPhone, on iTunes, you press Restore by also holding down the alt key (in order to let you browse and find the OS you downloaded earlier). Then the restoration process will take place. In the end of the installation it is more probably that you will get an error message saying “The iPhone could not be restored. An unknown error occurred (1015).” Feel happy because you did it right! 
  4. -Now it’s time to wake up from the coma. Open the “RecBoot Exit Only.app” you downloaded earlier and click (the only button in there) “Exit Recovery Mode”. 

Now your iPhone 3G feels again like the iPhone 3G! Keep in mind that you can not restore your data from iOS4 to iPhone OS 3.1.3. So if the only backup you have is from the iOS4 you have to setup everything from scratch (like the awesome first day that u got it in your hands!). Again if you have a time machine or you kept a backup from when you were in 3.1.3 feel free to restore the device using that backup. I didn’t, so I had to install everything from scratch. Although iTunes did the most of the work for me (syncing apps, iCal, Address Book etc) I like to keep Music and Emails manually managed so I had to set them up again. As for the Maps’ Bookmarks, unfortunately I couldn’t find a decent app to back them so what I did was: Going through every bookmark on the iPhone app and hit “Share location”. I mailed them to my account and after downgrading my iPhone I added them back by pressing on the link on every email. Not very happy about that but at least I also got back the name of the bookmark I had before, so that’s something. The whole above process should work on windows too since the RecBoot app is available for this “OS” too.